What’s your game? Mine is WoW.

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted, namely due to being swamped with freelance work. I won’t complain though, I enjoy it. 😀

I wanted to obliterate T-Mobile and their obvious copying of the old Mac commercials, but seeing as I’m reeling with excitement for World of Warcraft’s Cataclysm, which is coming out in two weeks(!), I’ve decided to give you a look back at my favorite Warcraft commercials. The first one is a joint effort between WoW and Toyota, and it happens to be my favorite commercial of all time.

Did you see me lay down the law? I am teh lawgiva! hahaha. never gets old. Epic ad by Saatchi and Saatchi in LA, CD Harvey Marco is my hero for this. Read more about it here: http://theinspirationroom.com/daily/2007/toyota-tacoma-in-world-of-warcraft/

This commercial was inspired off the famed World of Warcraft viral video with LEEEROY JENKINSSS!! (note: the Leroy Jenkins video isnt completely pg. there’s  a few swear words.)

This second one is from the “What’s your game?” campaign and features celebrities the characters they play on the game. Even though the Mr. T, Vern Troyer, and Ozzy Ozbourne ones were incredibly popular, I was thrilled to see Vic Mignogna have a spot. Lesser known to most people, in the nerd world of anime, he’s at the top, voicing some of the greatest anime characters of all time (Edward Elric from Full Metal Alchemist, Tamaki from Ouran, Goemon from Mystical Ninja, Dark from DNAngel, just to name a few). I didn’t notice until rewatching it again today that his shirt actually reads “Affliction” which is a warlock spec in WoW.

His final line is a total play at his role as the alchemist Edward Elric in FMA. It’s brilliant.

Leave a comment

Filed under advertising, videogames, World of Warcraft

Leave a Reply

