NaNoWriMo 2014

Participant-2014-Web-Banner

NaNoWriMo is almost here!

If you’ve followed any of my past posts, you’re probably aware that I won NaNo last year with ~35k toward my MS “Quarter Turn” and ~16k toward Project REUTSway. On the plus side, two of my ProjectREUTSway short stories placed as runner ups, and those can be read here and here. On the down side, my hard drive crashed, and I completely lost my 30k+ MS.

I originally wasn’t going to do NaNoWriMo this year. I managed to scrape together 50k of my lost MS over the last year, and I only have 30k to go. I really don’t want to start another project. Then REUTS announced its second year of ProjectREUTSway. I couldn’t say no to that. So I’m going to try and pull another split NaNo.

With NaNo last year, I wasn’t able to attend a lot of write-ins. Our chapter coverage is about an hour driving distance from each end, and the write-in locations were both half an hour away from me, in a weird, perfect triangle. Our chapter leader, Niko, reached out for help this year for two brave souls to host in the far reaches of our chapter, and I took the call. I get to host NaNoWriMo! Wooo!

Warriors! I mean, writers! Let’s do this!

If anyone has hosted a NaNoWriMo before and has some fun ideas for writerly things to do at write-ins besides writing, or fun suggestions for the kick-off party, please leave me a comment! I’m super excited to host this year and hoping people show up. I’m thinking of doing weekly progress check-ins and giving away coffee gift cards to the winners. I also think it would be fun to do sprints at the write-ins, since I’ve heard horror stories in the past about write-ins where no writing got done. What would be some fun sprint prizes?

I will also, of course, push ProjectREUTSway to the writers who come but aren’t too interested in cramming out the full 50k in the month.

Leave a comment

Filed under writing

Leave a Reply

